Poker Craze - Don't buy into the hype!

College Students Forum

Moderator: Administrator

jlebron

Poker Craze - Don't buy into the hype!

Post by jlebron » Fri Sep 18, 2009 3:31 pm

With the rise in popularity of Poker Tournaments, comes the rise in young people who become addicted to the “sport”. And in our society, poker has become just that, a sport; something that you can get good at, and maybe even earn a little fame for along the way. Sports broadcasting channels, like ESPN, have begun televising “professional” poker tournaments, making the game one of today’s largest spectator activities. Poker players have become celebrities, and are even featured on trading cards, just like those old baseball cards our generation used to collect as kids. All of these things perpetuate the glamorization of a game that, unfortunately, many young people have become addicted to through all of the hype.

I graduated college about a year ago and I can name a couple of my friends who throughout their college career used gambling as a means for extra cash. One of which would actually travel to Las Vegas for annual tournaments for the chance to win big. Needless to say… the term “broke college student” still applied to him. Games like Poker trick you into thinking that if you’re intelligent enough, if you can strategize, you can beat the odds. The truth is, no matter how smart you are, games of chance should be accepted for what they are based on, CHANCE. All forms of gambling have the potential to turn into a huge problem, a problem that can negatively affect many aspects of your life, including the lives of those that care about you. Get help if you feel like your gambling is no longer under control. We are here 24 hours a day 7 days a week with a multitude of resources that can put you in the right direction towards recovery. Call 888-236-4848 today.

Don’t buy into the hype!
With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
it is still a beautiful world.